Posted by: JoeOnTheTube | November 26, 2009

JoeOnTheTube- What We Are Thankful For

Happy Slapsgiving, or Thanksgiving everyone.  At this time every year the writers of JoeOnTheTube get together in one post and talk about what they are thankful for as far as TV goes.  I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

DarinIsLost-

  • I’m thankful for Lost.  It has survived long enough to come to its natural conclusion.  Most serialized TV shows get cancelled before their time and an ending is simply fabricated.  Let’s hope they end this right.
  • I’m thankful for being able to pause live TV.  I can start an American Idol results show 2/3 of the way through, skip past all of the filler and still catch the ending right along with the rest of the world.

JoanieCan’tDance-

  • This year I am thankful for Psych, How I Met Your Mother, The Office & 30 Rock for making me laugh; All the Real Housewife’s for sharing all the crazy drama; and to SYTYCD for the entertainment. I am also thankful for my DVR. Without you, I would never get to enjoy all of my favorite shows.

Morate

  • The return of Curb Your Enthusiasm. The near-heroic levels of sarcasm on this show warm my heart. It’s been nice to see the Seinfeld cast again too, but Larry’s the true star of the show.
  • I’m not sure who gave the programming controls to the Metalheads out there, but I’d like to buy them a shot of Jagermeister. VH1’s That Metal Show and Fuse’s Talking Metal are standouts of the resurgence. Rawk!
  • Via Netflix, I’m catching up on Dexter. I totally missed it the first time around due to my lack of Showtime. This show is dark and dirty, and did I mention the main character has very few redeeming qualities? I can see why the networks were so afraid of this show. Dig it.
  • The wife is thrilled to have a second helping of So You Think You Can Dance this fall. And, as you married guys know, it’s good to have a happy wifey.

Her & Him

  • HER: Tony’s truth serum induced rescue of Ziva on the season opener of NCIS.
    HIM: I absolutely love NCIS. The season opening was pretty great.
  • HER: The Good Wife.
    HIM: Have never seen The Good Wife – don’t need to, I already have one. (Love ya babe)
  • HER: Tom DeLay’s broken whatever that finally bumped him off Dancing With the Stars since the judges were apparently too dumbstruck by his ridiculous old man Republican hip shakin’ booty to do it.
    HIM: Ok, I’ll say it, I’m ok watching Dancing With the Stars – the women’s dance outfits are worth the time.
  • HER: My husband doesn’t watch NASCAR.
    HIM: I don’t get NASCAR – go straight, turn left, go straight, turn left – um, ok?!
  • HER: Phineas and Ferb.
    HIM: Phineas and Ferb
  • HER: My daughter has finally outgrown Noggin.
    HIM: Unfortunately, she’s picked up watching videos on CMT with her mom. :-/
  • HER: PBS.
    HIM: PBS is now on our radar again.
  • HER: There are only a few weeks when the Mavericks and the Rangers overlap. Even fewer since the Rangers blew the last half of the season.  (I’m not saying I’m thankful the Rangers blew the last half of the season. I was rooting for them. But come on, how freaking long can one season be? Oh wait, that question can be answered by the NBA.)
    HIM: Yep, I love watching sports on TV
  • HER: Grey’s Anatomy is good again.
    HIM: Grey’s Anatomy is good again.
  • HER: That we only have one TV in our house and I am frequently reminded of the depths of my husband’s love. Case in point – last night, he watched Donnie Osmond take home the Glitter Ball trophy on Dancing With the Stars, even though the Mav’s were playing.  I’ll return the favor, of course, when I watch seven football games with him on Sunday. But that’s why God created DVR. Which I’m also thankful for.
    HIM: Yep, I love watching sports on TV

JoeOnTheTube-

  • I’m thankful for my wife, who let’s me watch as much TV as I want.  I’m thankful for my newborn son whom I look forward to imparting my love of TV on, but I promise to make sure he goes outside and plays as well.
  • I’m thankful that Ed O’Neill and Katey Sagal, or Peg and Al Bundy one of the most iconic married couples in the history of television, have found home on two of the best shows on TV.
  • I’m thankful for the two best new shows of the season, Modern Family and Glee.
  • I’m thankful for HBO and their wonderful shows True Blood, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Big Love, Bored To Death, The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency,and of course the upcoming mini-series The Pacific.
  • I’m thankful that AMC has started producing quality television that rivals any other network on TV, including HBO.  Mad Men and Breaking Bad are both amazing.
  • I’m thankful that Kurt Sutter created the world of Sons of Anarchy, and took us along for the ride.  As season two comes to an end I can honestly say that I believe it is currently the best hour of TV on.
  • I’m thankful for the great people who write for this blog.  You make my life easier, and I really appreciate it.
  • I’m thankful for this blog and all its readers.  When I started this thing about a year and a half ago I never imagined that anyone aside from a few of my friends and family would read it.  This month we’ve had over 30,000 visitors, and that blows my mind.  We have some big changes coming up, and I hope that everyone keeps coming back.  As long as you are reading we will be watching.
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

Categories

